Curriculum Vitae Prof. Dr. Stefan A. Laufer



Address: Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen

Institute of Pharmacy, Auf der Morgenstelle 8, D-72076 Tuebingen, Germany 07071-2978788, Mobile: 01749373041, stefan.laufer@uni-tuebingen.de

Present position: Chairman for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Head Medicinal Chemistry

Department Pharmacy & Biochemsitry

Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen, Germany

Education:

1984: Degree in Pharmacy, University of Regensburg

1989: PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Regensburg1997: Habilitation for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Mainz

Professional appointments:

1988-90: Postdoc, Institute of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Biopharmacy, Frankfurt

1990-96: Head Department Drug Research,

Merckle Pharmaceuticals GmbH, Blaubeuren, Germany

1996-99: R&D-Director, Member of the Board, Merckle Pharmaceuticals, Ulm, Germany

1996-99: Managing Director, Asahi-Merckle-Pharma, Ulm, Germany

1996-07: Member of the Board, ProGen Biotech GmbH, Heidelberg, Germany 1999-present: Chairman for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Head Medicinal Chemistry

Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen, Germany

2003-06: Dean Faculty Chemistry and Pharmacy

2003-06: Director Institute of Pharmacy

2003-present: Founding Dean Pharmacy German University in Cairo

2005-present: Director Brasilienzentrum Baden-Württemberg

2008-present: Cofounder ICEPHA, 2011-2018 Chairman of the board

(Interfaculty Centre for Pharmacogenomics and Pharma Research)

2006-15: Vice President Board of Trustees Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen

2008-13: Member of the Board, BioPro Baden-Württemberg GmbH, Stuttgart, Germany

2015: Tuebingen Center for Academic Drug Discovery & Development (TüCADD)

Cofounder and Chairman

Postgraduate Education:

1989: Specialist Pharmaceutical Analytics (Fachapotheker)

1994: Specialist Toxicology (Fachapotheker)

1997: Advanced Management Training, European Inst. Business Administration INSEAD,

Fontainebleau, France

Memberships:

American Chemical Society, Medicinal Chemistry Division Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker GDCh Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft DPhG Österreichische Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft ÖPhG DECHEMA, ChemBioNet Inflammation Research Association

Scientific Board Positions:

Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft DPhG (German Pharmaceutical Society)
President 2016-9, 2012-15 Vice President, since 2008 Vice President MedChem Division
Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh), since 2011 Board Member MedChem Division
DECHEMA: 2012-17 Board Member ChemBioNet
Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (ACS): since 2010 Editorial Advisory Board Member
Research Commission Medical Faculty Uni Tuebingen, AKF, Member since 2001
Interfaculty Center for Pharmacogenomic and Drug Research (ICEPHA), Chairman since 2011
INCT-INOFAR of Drugs and Medicines, UFRJ, Brasil, Scientific Advisory Board since 2014
Center for Personalized Medicine Uni Tuebingen, Board Member since 2015
Chemical Probes Portal SGC-UNC, Member Scientific Advisory Board since 2015

Research:

Medicinal Chemistry/Drug Discovery, Molecular targets: COX-1/2/3, Lipoxygenases, cPLA₂, mPGES1, Cytokine-Release Inhibitors, **Proteinkinase-Inhibitors**, Transscription factors, Replication Proteins, 415 publications (abstracts excluded), >8.500 citations, H-factor 47 (ISI Web of Science), 42 patent families, 318 national applications 15 books/book chapters

Honors (selected):

1998: Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Bonn, rejected

1999: Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Tübingen, accepted

2003: Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Freiburg, rejected

2006 and 2017: Phoenix Wissenschaftspreis Pharmazie

2014: Permanent Member (Membro Correspondente) of the Brasilian Academy of Science

2016: Teaching Award Faculty of Medicine: Best Lecturer (Advanced Molecular Oncology)

2017: ACS Journal Stars: Medicinal Chemistry, Top 10 (#5) most prolific author 2010-16